Maryland Handgun Wear & Carry Course

  ******************************************************************************************

This course includes a PPC based shooting test, required by the State of Maryland to be eligible to apply for a Wear & Carry Permit.

Beginning on April 15, 2012 Maryland State Police only accepts electronically filled applications

While this course satisfies all the requirements as issued by the Maryland State Police, MdGTC® does not guarantee that the applicant will receive the CCW Permit. ******************************************************************************************

 Prerequisites: Demonstrable proficiency with the handgun.

Classes held on weekends

  Duration - 16 hours (two days) for original applicatio, 8 hours (first day only) for renewal.

  Cost - $250.00 for 16 hour, $150 for 8 hour class.

Possible additional cost:

Use of school firearms and ammo- $30.00 (If needed)


 A non-refundable $50.00 deposit is required to reserve your space in class

Click on the button below corresponding to the class you need to make your reservation

Or send a $50 check or money order to:

Maryland Gun Training Center, LLC

P.O. Box 1395,

Owings Mills, MD 21117-9998

(We offer discount to those taking multiple courses)

You will learn in this course:

• Laws governing use of deadly force in Maryland.

• Types of handguns.

• Functions and parts of a handgun.

• Ammunition types and impact.

• Defensive shooting techniques.

• Cleaning and storage of firearms.

• Live fire examination (please click here to see the course of fire).

Certificate and Official Scoresheet issued upon completion.


What is required:

• 50 rounds of ammunition if using your firearm.

• Handgun. (Will be provided for those who do not own one)

• Eye (glasses) and ear protection (Available free of charge).